Skip to main content

Based on the need for protection, buildings can be divided into different fire-engineering building classes (see picture below):

  • Br0 - Building with very high protection needs
    • Larger buildings over 16 floors
    • Business classes 5C/5D etc.

  • Br1 - Building with high protection needs
    • Buildings with three or more floors (not single-family houses) etc.

  • Br2 - Building with moderate protection needs
    • Two-storey buildings
    • Single-storey building with an area larger than 200 sqm etc.

  • Br3 - Building with low protection needs
    • Single-family house etc.

Fire performance building class depends mainly on the number of floors.
Image Source: Träguiden.